Ahh, dammit. I forgot to post anything today! So in the interest of having something of some kind of substance, I thought I’d list all the books I read this year that I gave 5-stars on GoodReads. This is easier than making some kind of ranked list, although sometimes when I look at my star ratings, I say, “Really, what was I thinking?” But! Assuming that I knew what I was talking about when I ranked them, here are the ‘best’ books I read this year:

Prose division:
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin
Just Kids by Patti Smith
Moonlight Mile by Dennis Lehane
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout
A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore
The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
Orson Welles: The Road to Xanadu by Simon Callow
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
Komarr/A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold
The Magician’s Book by Laura Miller

Comics division
Various volumes of Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa
Pluto by Naoki Urasawa
Irredeemabale by Mark Waid & Peter Krause
Unwritten by Mike Carey & Peter Gross
Phonogram by Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie
The Losers by Andy Diggle & Jock
Power Girl by Palmiotti, Gray & Conner
Daredevil: Born Again by Frank Miller & David Mazzuchelli
Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Fortune & Glory by Brian Michael Bendis
Avengers: The Initiative – Dreams & Nightmares by Christos Gage & Rafa Sandoval

Looking over that list, I suspect I was a little generous with the 5’s (and also inconsistent — did I really think Catching Fire was better than Wolf Hall or The Passage, which only got 4?)

I think what this rating system reflects most is the books that ended in a way I felt was really satisfying. I tend to fly to GoodReads as soon as I’m done with something, and if I’m glowing with the need to share how awesome something was, I mark it “5”. If I have doubts or hesitations, or am still chewing things over, I might mark it lower than that. So maybe books I have to think about more are penalized. But everything that’s on there, I can pretty much guarantee I enjoyed a lot, so I can’t really nitpick, now — even if some of what I labeled as 3 or 4 star books have stayed with me much more than some of the 5’s.

You can see my entire GoodReads profile here if that kind of thing interests you.

If you had any favorite books this year, you should let me know about them!

