Wow, my post about writing angst got way more response than I expected. Thanks to everybody who responded here, or on Twitter, or by email. It gave me lots to think about.

I went through a flurry of changing my mind about what I was going to do and then changing it back. My first impulse was to scale back my ambition and work on polishing a short piece that I have outlined. I feel like I get structure in short fiction — it fits with a flying by the seat of my pants/short bursts of energy approach. My problem there is that I don’t write it all that often, and when I do I don’t do it with publication in mind. (That’s a value-neutral choice to me; I don’t think fiction has to be intended for publication to be worthwhile, just observing it’s something I haven’t done).

But then I started thinking about the short story I wanted to work on and I realize it has a potential for linearity and a strong central character (just what my original NaNo concept was missing) and that I can tie that character into a lot of the original ideas. And I can do all of this without losing the short story (which is a good chapter one). Potentially. Or it may turn into something completely different. But I feel like I’m getting into the spirit now. . .we’ll see what happens!

I feel energized, and thanks for putting up with my crazy :).

