I’ve always liked the idea of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), but I’ve never done much as far as participation. For years, I’ve known people who took part, and some who finished, but last fall (thanks to Twitter?) it seemed like the dam burst and everybody I knew was writing. I was busy of course, November is always busy, and between the holidays and other obligations, plus the subjective state of my muse, it didn’t seem very feasible. At the time, I emailed with a few people, including my Twitter-friend Meg, about the possibility of picking a new month, sometime in the spring, when we had a little more breathing room.

And Meg, you know, she remembered. So together we tried to give it a try, and my friend Jennifer joined in as well. And we’re going to give it a try. My novel idea may be loosely based on the suggestion I put forth in this Fantastic Fangirls Q&A, or I may have come down off of mind-altering substances (coffee & Sudafed & adrenaline & a little bourbon) by then. Time will tell.

Anyway, we can’t really CALL it National Novel Writing Month, because it’s not so much aimed at ‘the nation’ as at ‘people I talk to on Twitter.’ But if anybody else is interested in joining in, I’m going to offer this blog as a sort of central discussion area. If you’re interested in participating, leave a comment here and let me know. Tell me as much or as little as you want about your novel idea. I’ll make periodic posts (a few times a week probably), and you can check in with word count or just something that lets us know you’re still in or still breathing. Maybe I’ll post survey questions to be answered by your main characters. Once again, time will tell.

Speaking of time: we’ll start our month on Saturday, May 1, and we’ll keep the standard NaNo goal of 50,000 words (you may set your own bar higher or lower as you like. It’s a free country). Unlike November, which is a 30 day month, we’re operating with a 34 day month, May 1 to June 3. This is based on the scientific method that (a) that’s the last day I’m on vacation before heading to Charlotte for Heroes Con and (b) my blog, my rules.

But really. Check in if you want to play along, or if you have a suggestion for what we should call this thing. (Because how else do we hashtag it on Twitter?) If left to my own devices, it might end up being #bigsexywrimo. Only Big, Sexy novels allowed!

