I have a friend coming to visit in about an hour, my house is a wreck, so the natural thing to do seemed to be answering these questions I found on the Internet!

What song are you currently addicted to?

I haven’t been playing anything that obsessively (which is kind of unusual for me) but what I keep wanting to go back to is “The Last Resort” by the Eagles. There’s a live version on their Hell Freezes Over reunion album that I listened to constantly for a phase of my last year of college. I hadn’t heard it in ages and I put it on a mix recently, now it spends a lot of time in my head. I’m not sure why this song struck me so hard when it did, but to me it’s a song about running away and finding yourself running into the same problems. “There is no more new frontier/we have got to make it here” is the definition of a blessing and a curse. If I thought Avatar was a better movie, I would want somebody to make an Avatar fanvid to this song — though I should say, I don’t think it’s an especially good song; it might even be a pretty bad one, but the best songs aren’t always the ones that stick with us most.

What books are you currently reading?

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, A Civil Campaign by Lois McMaster Bujold, and Orson Welles: The Road to Xanadu by Simon Callow. All of them kind of slowly at this point, but with enjoyment.

What’s the most enjoyable thing you’ve done today?

I sat at my desk and told myself stories about my favorite comic book character coming back from the dead and becoming best friends with one of my other favorite comic book characters. I. . .sincerely hope the day gets more enjoyable when Samantha gets here.

What is the one skill you wish you had?

When I’m around artists and comics people, I wish I could draw. Otherwise, I wish I could sing. I have no skill at either of these things.

What is your favorite historical era?

I was actually just asked this recently — what I came up with is that I like any era that I can find good stories about. Currently, Tudor England and late Republican Rome are scratchiing the itch. I’m also fascinated by 19th and 20th century Russian/Soviet history, but that’s almost too depressing to call “favorite.”

What’s your current fandom/obsession/addiction?

I’ve very recently rediscovered my enthusiam for Marvel comics, so that’s good; also, anything involving Batwoman, the TV show Rome, and revisiting Jane Austen.

Cake or Death?

Cake tastes good.

What Web sites do you always visit when you go online?

Gmail, LiveJournal, Twitter (and through twitter the blogs of many geek friends), ifanboy, and lately, more and more, murmur.com. I also check my bank balance and reorder my netflix queue obsessively. I used to read the New Yorker online, but now I get it on my Kindle. [ETA: Oh, and GoodReads! I always check GoodReads!]

What was the last thing you bought?

Groceries, so I won’t be totally embarrassed by my refrigerator contents while Samantha is visiting. The highlights were Peeps and Brownie mix.
An excessive number of spring dresses at Target.

Which fictional character do you think you’re most like?

Liz Lemon.

What book do you think everyone should read?

Confederates in the Attic: Dispatches from the Unfinished Civil War by Tony Horwitz. It’s a little dated now, but it explains so much about the history I grew up with and the places I come from (and I mean to say, it explained a lot of things to me).


Do you get cravings? If so, what do you crave?

Food, songs, naps.

What is the best place you’ve ever been?

The Marin headlands next to the Golden Gate Bridge.

What was the last meal you ate?

I just had a salad. And Peeps. Don’t judge me.

Do you want to learn another language?

I’d like to magically know every language, but I’m not very patient with them and the only way I would realistically learn one at this point in my life is if I was stranded on an alien planet and had to. Or if I fell in love with somebody who spoke it; that would be romantic. (To be clear, this is not part of the alien-planet scenario, though I was just thinking about Avatar, and some of those Na’vi were pretty cut).

Six things you can’t live without?

1. Internet
2. Coffee
3. Books
4. National Public radio
5. Cell Phone
6. ipod


Find the closest book currently sitting near you and flip to page 54. What is the first sentence of the second paragraph?

That summer, in July of 1930, Orson and his father went by see to Shanghai.

zomg, that is a great random sentence

What’s something you’d like to say to someone right now?

I’d like to say something profanity laden to the United States Congress.

What are you looking forward to?

Samantha! We’re gonna watch some movies and have brownies and make fun of people. But not anybody who’s reading this, you’re all awesome.

