Some people say that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. I’m not sure who says that — I either saw it on a bumper sticker or heard it in an episode of Angel* I’ve always found that wisdom questionable because, really, just because I’m doing the same thing over and over doesn’t mean everybody else is doing the same thing over and over; so I could act the same way, and everybody else could be acting differently which could change the outcome. So really, the only way in which that definition makes sense is if I assume the world revolves around what I do. Which is the definition of insanity.

But. I suppose it makes more sense than otherwise to assume that what I do has a large effect on what happens to me. So, for example, when I’m in a cranky mood for no really good reason, chances are it’s going to turn out I haven’t been getting enough sleep. Just like the last hundred times I was getting cranky for no reason. So. Activities that require too much thought are suspended and I’ll go to bed early so I can salvage the rest of the week. Let’s see how this works out.

*If I’m acting like, just maybe, I don’t remember for sure but possibly I heard something in an episode of Angel that is totally where I heard it. If I think long enough I could probably tell you the name of the episode** but I’ll leave that be.

** I thought about it, I’m like 80 percent sure the name of the episode is “Orpheus”.

