I’m enjoying the responses to yesterday’s question, an I still have room for more. I’ll be addressing these in the next few days. Meanwhile, I pulled this Year in Fandom survey from somewhere or other, and thought it would be fun to do:

1. Your main fandom of the year?

Comic books. I could probably reasonably say “Marvel Comics,” which have definitely gotten the bulk of my attention and money. But a high percentage of the stuff I’ve truly excited about isn’t Marvel, so I’ll cast the net more broadly.

2. Your favorite film watched this year?

I didn’t see a whole lot of movies this year; I’m hoping to get to more. I’m still chewing over Up in the Air, which was certainly the most refreshing. But Star Trek was pure joy, Moon was really cool and unexpected, and damned if the movie I didn’t actually spend the most time thinking and talking about was Watchmen. Since the survey’s asking about fandom, and not just critical rankings, I feel like I need to mention that one as well.

3. Your favorite book read this year?

Not a new book, but The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell, pretty much blew my mind.

4. Your favorite album or song to listen to this year?

My favorite album of 2008 was without contest Bruce Springsteen’s Darkness on the Edge of Town, with the fact that it came out in 1978 being a mere detail. This year I actually bought a lot more new music, and I still listened to a lot of Bruce, but there’s not a single album or track that dominates as I think about it. If I had to pick one album for this year — one that’s new to my repertoire and that I listened to a lot, particularly while I was working or writing — I’d say Boxer by the National. I don’t know a whole lot about this band, but I like the singer’s voice and the texture of the sound; it’s good music for doing other things.

5. Your favorite TV show of the year?

There’s actually a lot more on this list than I thought there would be. I spent the most time talking about Mad Men and, while I had some displeasure with the season, the finale was perfect.

6. Your favorite online fandom community of the year?

I’ll have to cheat and say Twitter, which gives me a nice network between (among other sites) ifanboy.com, murmur.com, alert nerd, and (I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention) Fantastic Fangirls.

7. Your best new fandom discovery of the year?

‘Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles.’ I’ll admit, I only started watching this show after it was cancelled, and mainly because I saw that the last two episodes were called “Adam Raised a Cain” and “Born to Run.” My radar for Springsteen references in popular culture has no shame.

8. Your biggest fandom disappointment of the year?

I don’t guess I expected much out of the Wolverine movie, but I thought I’d at least have fun with it. Not really (though it was better the second time, with the Long Island Iced Tea to fortify me).

9. Your TV boyfriend of the year?

Ben Sherman from Southland. Aye aye aye, when did that happen to the kid from The O.C.? Brian Austin Green playing Derek Reese on Sarah Connor is a runner up for the “when did that happen to?” award, but I have issues about Reese boys that keep me from letting him be my unqualified TV boyfriend.

9(a) (optional, added by me) Who is your comic book boyfriend of the year?

Clint Barton, aka Ronin, aka (always and forever), Hawkeye. Dude, he kind of came out of nowhere, but he totally lapped Tony Stark and Hal Jordan and Scott Summers at some point. Better luck next year.

10. Your TV girlfriend of the year?

Lacey Thornfield from The Middleman. (I think this ran last year, but I watched it this year, so whatever). When Lacey was introduced as Wendy Watson’s blonde artist roommate, I assumed she was there to be the flakey, shallow counterpoint to the responsible Wendy. But nay, Lacey turned out to be awesome and multi-dimensional in her own right, and the friendship between the two girls a highlight of the show.

10 (a). (etc) Your comic book girlfriend of the year?

Kate Kane, aka Batwoman. No contest, there. As I sometimes feel like I have to explain when I rave about this comic — I’m a straight girl, but if I met a redhead with those boots, I could totally negotiate.

11. Your biggest squee moment of the year?

I tend to get squeeful a lot so let’s go with one of the most recent, the series finale of The Sarah Connor Chronicles: “My brother’s back, and you’re wearing his jacket.” This doesn’t mean anything if you haven’t seen the show but trust me that it’s awesome.

12. The most missed of your old fandoms?

Cable & Deadpool. This is one of those things I shouldn’t even try to explain.

13. The fandom you haven’t tried yet, but want to?

I’ve tentatively watched bits and pieces of the new Doctor Who, when they run the specials on BBC America. I want to be into this show because I’ve seen so much interesting conversation about it, but I’ve had trouble finding a good entry point, and I apparently can’t just watch the show on TV because they cut it. Starting another show on DVD is daunting, though, and even if I wanted to download new episodes, my technology situation makes it hard for me to watch things online. So I’m still tentative about it. Also, I really like David Tennant, but watching him for any length of time makes me wonder if I’m about to have an anxiety attack.

14. Your biggest fan anticipations for the New Year?

Iron Man II, Marvel’s “Siege” event, the return of Southland.

